NHL Players say what?

So, good ole Caitlin over at Hockey Coma posted this, and I felt the need to also share my feeings on this list as well.

Sun Media polled players, coaches, scouts and other media personal from the NHL to come up with a Best Of list. I have quite a few problems with parts of this list you NHLers came up with….

First off, smartest player.. Sidney Crosby? Of course he’s number one. He’s a robot. And I know, I’m biased since I am a Stars fan, but have these people EVER heard of Sergei Zubov? Seriously..

Most Underrated, again, why isn’t Zubov in this category? Because sadly, he is extremely underrated. Or maybe it’s just lack of media attention, though I do think that counts as the media underrating him, since he should be talked about tons.

Best Referee: ARE YOU SERIOUS GIVING KERRY FRASER NUMBER 2? I’m speechless.

And much love for the player you fear most in a shootout, since Jussi Jokinen came in number 1. Be afraid.

And seriously, to whoever answered if I was NHL commisioner for a day I’d with “suspend Sean Avery….forever” you are my favorite person.

So now that my general bitching is done, here are my STARS choices (just one) for each category on this survey.

THE PLAYER YOU CAN BUILD AROUND: Mike Ribeiro

BEST SKATER: Chris Conner
(have you seen him split the D with his speediness to get the puck to the net?)

WORST SKATER: Dave Tippett
(because I don’t want to put anyone on my team on that list and he stands on the bench)

HARDEST SHOT: Mike Modano

SMARTEST PLAYER: Sergei Zubov

MOST OVERRATED: We’ll skip this one, because most of the Stars seem to fly under the radar

MOST UNDERRATED: Joel Lundqvist and Brad Winchester

BEST STICKHANDLER: Mike Ribeiro
(ooh he’s gotten two from me, way to go chocolate!)

BEST AT FACEOFFS: Jeff Halpern

BEST PASSER: Sergei Zubov
(2 for the Russian too…)

FASTEST SKATER: Mike Modano

DIRTIEST PLAYER: I’ll have to see shower records for this one ;)

BEST FIGHTER: Steve Ott

PLAYER WHO WILL BE A COACH: Brenden Morrow

FUNNIEST PLAYER: Brenden Morrow (have you seen his On the Ice video?)

NICEST PLAYER: Marty Turco

BEST TRASH TALKER: Steve Ott
(who actually was voted number 3)

RISING STAR: Antti Miettinen

PLAYER YOU FEAR THE MOST IN A SHOOTOUT: Jussi Jokinen (duh)

Tags:

2 Responses to “NHL Players say what?”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    I totally agree on that entire Stars list…especially Tippett as the worst skater.

  2. Cat Says:

    Chris Conner is an AMAZING skater. Speedy little midget, that one.

Leave a Reply

