2008 All-Star Game on Versus

So I will be attempting to do a liveblog of this event, we’ll see how it goes.

Game starts with an overview of some of the players taking part in this years All-Star game. They inform us 2 goalies will be wearing microphones and it really excites me, considering how awesome Manny Legace was last night.

From the commercial break, they inform us the Hives are playing on what looks like the same type stage they used last year in the All-Star game held in Dallas. I might be lame, but I never saw what was so great about The Hives. I promptly mute my TV because The Hives are making my ears hurt.

I see the players come out so I unmute my TV to hear if anything is being said, but sadly all I hear is the mess of the band playing. The mess is still playing during the coach and player introductions, but I guess I can deal. AWW I love Ribs little smile after they introduce him, he looks so happy to be there, which is more than I can say for the rest of the players in the Western Conference.

I also must say, I am definitely a fan of this years All-Star jersey, much better than last year. I might even be convinced to buy one if I have the money.

Kathleen Edwards is singing O Canada……and doing a HORRIBLE job of it. I don’t know who you are, but please stop butchering their poor anthem. The Atlanta Boy choir is doing the US National Anthem. I don’t know why but seeing them sing makes me laugh really hard.

1st period
20:00: So excited that DiPietro is miced, we’ll see if you can live up to the awesomeness that was Marty Turco last year.

19:48: While talking to DiPietro about his hip that is sore, Rick Nash breaks the defense to make it 1-0 West.

land-before-time.jpg19:35: West gets another attack on the net, but Pietro stopped it. Everytime I hear his name I think of a terradactyl, mostly because of Petrie from the Land before Time.

19:00: My mother walks in to inform me that someone is going to have to pick up pizza at 6….Obviously me going is out of the question, and as I point this out to her Eric Staal scores to make it 1-1.

18:10: Pietro gets a nice stop and sends it down the ice by wacking the puck in mid-air. Come play in the Reebok Celebrity Baseball Game please.

16:40: Announcer man informs me that the great thing about this arena is the fact that it has a concourse with food….how original. The fact that you’re impressed by this worries me.

14:00: I said this in the post yesterday, but it’s nice to see a game where the players don’t have to worry about being hit and can just play hockey for the love of hockey and have fun with it. But we’ll see if the players from the Flyers forget it IS just supposed to be fun.

12:45: I see Horcoff in his pretty number 10 West jersey and it makes me sad, Brenden Morrow will get in an All-Star game one day.

12:05: Ribbons shows off his fancy moves, this one time I not get mad at you for being fancy Ribbons and losing puck. So just be pretty out there Ribbons, that’s all I ask.

11:41: Chris Simpson interviews Garth Brooks. I HEART YOU GARTH! I really want to see The Zone room he opened in Fort Worth, the pictures I’ve seen look amazing. I love that he mentions about Troy Aikman and that it was his ideas for “The Zone’s” at the hospitals. You awesome Troy. I heart you too. Dallas Teams own, except the Rangers.

10:17: Markov gets it past Osgood to make it 2-1 East.

8:20: Haha, someone totally tripped Pietro in the corner.

6:25: Ovie gets one past Osgood to put the East up 3-1. Of course it’s not an All-Star game without a goal from Ovechkin.

5:05: Apparently Pietro doesn’t like the no-handle zone much, I’m not sure any Goalies do lol

4:50: Campbell makes it 4-1 East. Osgood you’re embarassing me :(

2:30: Have I mentioned how much I hate losing? I do. A lot. Just ask anyone I know. Osgood, please be in net on Feb 17th and play just like this.

2:11: Ovechkin scores his second of the night, making it 5-1.

:10: I love Pietro doing commentary, he should do it the rest of the game from the bench. Please.

:00: First period ends, quite quickly. East up 5-1.

1st intermission

They talk about the 1st period, and I mostly don’t listen seeing as I just watched it. After commercial they cut to an interview with Lecavalier. After the 2nd commercial, they talk about their predictions for MVP. One man chooses Alex Ovechkin, an obvious choice. Another one chooses Ilya Kovalchuk. All-in-all, nothing too extraordinary mentioned in the intermission.

2nd period
20:00:
The beginning of the 2nd period starts with a special ceremony for Willie O’Ree.

18:58: They mention who the officials are tonight, no one I absolutely despise. At least McGeough isn’t reffing because I’m sure it’d be in history books as All-Star Game with most penalties.

18:00: Ovechkin passes back to Vokoun who is the East’s netminder. Looked more like he was trying to score.

16:00: The announcer men are talking about their first hockey games they attended, I can’t actually remember who the Stars played in the first game I went to, considering I was pre-teen. I do remember having fun though. Back in good ol’ Reunion Arena!

12:09: I like the close-ups of Ribbons, too bad they don’t talk about him while showing him. I want to hear good stuff about my Ribbons.

10:27: Nash gets past the D and gets his second goal of the night, making it 5-2.

7:40: I notice that no one seems to be passing to Ribbons, do not hate on Ribbons. He is the only person I have in this game and I’d like to see him score please.

4:52: Neidermayer gets a goal and makes it 5-3. A much less embarassing score.

03.jpg4:30: They mention the card-stacking person. He is quite cool at what he does, I saw the Dallas Skyline he did during the All-Star events last year, it was quiet cool!

3:30: Yes! They talk to Legace! He is talking about what he is doing as far as raising money for breast cancer.

1:07: Kovalchuk gets a nice shot off, which Nabokov is able to stay. Kovalchuk falls back on the ice in disbelief, it was a great play by both players. There should be more players falling to the ice in disbelief, it’s make it a lot funner.

:00: West begins their comeback to go into the 2nd intermission down by 2.

2nd intermission

They show an interview with Pronger….sorry Versus, this something I really not interested in seeing. At all. The only thing I like is that you can see Ribbons sitting in front of his stall, but he look so lonely. SOMEONE TALK TO RIBBONS!

Ne-Yo performs…I can’t even think of anything that he sings. So I fastforward, as I am on delay due to my pizza break.

Recap of SuperSkills does not entertain me since I watched it only yesterday.

3rd period
20:00: They start with interviewing Bettman about the Winter Classic and the next season beginning in Europe. I hear no mention of Stars in Helsinki, so I’m uninterested.

19:19: Getzlaf scores to make it 5-4. I almost missed it due to the fact that Bettman was still talking. Yes, please shut up Bettman and talk to Legace. And I LOVE that Legace told Bettman not to pick on the goaltenders.

19:00: Legace tells Bettman to stop taking away inches! Bettman counters telling him goalies need to stop getting so big but Legace points out that he is only 5’9. I heart you Legace.

18:10: Bettman starts talking again, so I stop paying attention.

18:04: And again while not paying attention, Rick Nash gets the hat trick to tie it at 5-5. Shut up Bettman. They talk to Getzlaf, and he sounds wasted. Celebrating early? Or is that just how you sound.

15:54: Hossa gets a goal for the hometown crowd to give the East the lead again, 6-5.

14:53: Phaneuf gets West back in, tying it again at 6-6.

12:22: Legace makes a save, and with that Bettman announces his time talking with the announcers is over. I celebrate.

9:18: They compliment Manny on the 4 consecutive saves and Manny mentions that he has little midget legs, which makes me laugh hysterically.

9:03: Gaborik scores while I’m laughing still and makes it 7-6 West.

7:25: Staal ties it at 7-7, right after they tell Legace they are going to let him do some play-by-play.

5:30: That right Legace, you mention Ribbons great stick-handling.

3:05: Love all the mentions of dipsy-doodles and spin-o-rama’s.

1:00: One minute remaining and it’s still tied.

:20: Savard puts the East up 8-7. Pretty safe to say this game is over.

:00: East pulls out the win. Whatevs. West is still superior ;) j/k

Post-Game
They bring out the Dodge Journey to announce the MVP of the game.  I love that everyone booed Bettman, you’re so liked.   Eric Staal clinches the MVP.

Now cut to the West locker room.  Is that Gaborik having everyone sign his jersey? I don’t know why I find this so funny.  I guess it’s like high school, getting everyone to sign your yearbook.    I enjoyed the All-Star game this year, it was fun.  Good job Versus.

Can I have my stuff now?

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “2008 All-Star Game on Versus”

  1. Cat Says:

    Pietro gets a nice stop and sends it down the ice by wacking the puck in mid-air. Come play in the Reebok Celebrity Baseball Game please.

    Ooh! Good idea!! Pretty Ricky needs to get on that.

  2. Patty (in Dallas) Says:

    Osgood, please be in net on Feb 17th and play just like this.

    Yes! It’s my hope that this and his poor showing in the Skills, on top of his new (and baffling) contract, will make him suck the rest of the year, and Hasek will tweak his groin or get bored or something and they’ll have to depend on Osgood.

    So if that happens and that’s the only thing good that happens in the ASG, I would still love it.

  3. Jen Says:

    Ooh! Good idea!! Pretty Ricky needs to get on that

    I would really be so excited

  4. Cat Says:

    The only thing I like is that you can see Ribbons sitting in front of his stall, but he look so lonely.

    Poor Ribbons! I’ll be your friend, Ribbons.

  5. Jen Says:

    Yes! It’s my hope that this and his poor showing in the Skills, on top of his new (and baffling) contract, will make him suck the rest of the year, and Hasek will tweak his groin or get bored or something and they’ll have to depend on Osgood.

    I concur.

  6. Cat Says:

    I guess it’s like high school, getting everyone to sign your yearbook.

    My favorite part was seeing Ribbons and Gaborik stop and sign each other’s jerseys in the middle of the locker room. So cute.

  7. fullbodytransplant Says:

    Thanks, that was very entertaining. We had a wonderful time with the game, especially the microphones in the goalie masks:

    http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2008/01/28/the-dumbest-use-of-technology-in-sports-history/

    Good times.

Leave a Reply

