Most Valuable Player

So with a few days until our next game, and the fact that I’m working on President’s Day and have nothing to do; I decided to attempt to mathematically calculate who the Stars most valuable player is.  I decided to go by the points system NHL.com uses when they choose the 3 Stars of the Night.  I know that just going by nightly Star picks for games is probably not the most accurate, but I was surprised that the top 10 players were pretty much who I personally thought the top 10 should be.  So maybe it’s not as off as one would assume…

So anyway.  Here we go, the point system

  • 1st star of the night earns 30 points
  • 2nd star of the night earns 20 points
  • 3rd star of the night earns 10 points

So without further ado, here is the entire list of the most valuable players, as determined by Star choices.

1-tie: Mike Ribeiro – 310 Points
1-tie: Marty Turco – 310 Points
3: Brenden Morrow – 250 Points
4: Mike Modano – 170 Points
5: Mike Smith – 160 Points
6: Niklas Hagman – 140 Points
7: Antti Miettinen – 130 Points
8: Sergei Zubov – 110 Points
9: Stéphane Robidas – 80 Points
10-tie: Jussi Jokinen – 50 Points
10-tie: Jere Lehtinen – 50 Points
12: Steve Ott – 40 Points
13-tie: Trevor Daley – 30 Points
13-tie: Jeff Halpern – 30 Points
15-tie: Stu Barnes – 20 Points
15-tie: Loui Eriksson – 20 Points

Of course it’s not perfect, as there is at least one extremely important player from the team missing.  That person of course being Philippe Boucher.  I think he would definitely tie into the top 10 if it wasn’t for his shoulder surgery this past December.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Most Valuable Player”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    Yeah, that doesn’t really surprise me either. Hmm.

    I agree with you on Bouche. :D

  2. Patty (in Dallas) Says:

    That’s a pretty good idea, Jen! I think it does show a little that the stats won’t show, and I like seeing Modano up there in the top 5, because his contributions are pretty subtle. But important.

    And of course I agree on Bouche. I’m not going to know what to do when he comes back.

Leave a Reply

