Trade Deadline ’08

So here is the lowdown of what went on today.  Due to the fact that everyone and their dog was doing coverage all day of the trade, I decided not to.  Well, that and because I actually have a job.  I will however just give the lowdown of what craziness occured today, especially now that the deadline has passed and all that is left (if any) are the few straggling deals that took place right at the deadline.

  • New Jersey Devils aquire Bryce Salvador from the St. Louis Blues for Cam Janssen
  • Florida Panthers aquire Wade Belak from the Toronto Maple Leafs for a 2008 5th Round Pick
  • San Jose aquire Brian Campbell and a 7th round pick from the Buffalo Sabres for Steve Bernier and a 2008 1st round pick
  • Dallas Stars aquire Brad Richards and Johan Holmqvist from the Tampa Bay Lightning for Mike Smith, Jussi Jokinen, Jeff Halpern and a 4th round pick
  • Washington Capitals aquire Cristobal Huet from the Montreal Canadiens for a 2009 2nd round pick
  • Florida Panthers aquire Karlis Skrastins and a 3rd round pick from the Colorado Avalanche for Ruslan Salei
  • Carolina Hurricanes aquire Tuomo Ruutu from Chicago Blackhawks for Andrew Ladd
  • Ottawa Senators aquire Martin LaPointe from Chicago Blackhawks for a 2008 6th round pick
  • Colorado Avalanche aquire Adam Foote from the Columbus Blue Jackets for a conditional 1st round pick in ’08/09 and a conditional pick on Foote re-signing
  • Washington Capitals aquire Sergei Fedorov from the Columbus Blue Jackets for Theo Ruth
  • New York Islanders aquire Rob Davison from the San Jose Sharks for a 7th round pick
  • Vancouver Canucks aquire Matt Pettinger from the Washington Capitals for Matt Cooke
  • New York Rangers aquire Christian Backman from St. Louis Blues for a 2008 4th round pick
  • Pittsburgh Penguins aquire Hal Gill from Toronto Maple Leafs for a 2nd and 5th round pick
  • Pittsburgh Penguins aquire Marian Hossa and Pascal Dupuis from the Atlanta Thrashers for Angelo Esposito, Colby Armstrong, Erik Christensen and a 1st round pick
  • Minnesota Wild aquire Chris Simon from New York Islanders for a 6th round pick
  • Detroit Red Wings aquire Brad Stuart from Los Angeles Kings for a 2nd and 4th round pick
  • New York Rangers aquire Fredrik Sjostrom, David Leneveu and Josh Gratton from Phoenix Coyotes for Marcel Hossa and Al Montoya
  • Florida Panthers aquire Chad Kilger from Toronto Maple Leafs for a 3rd round pick
  • Anaheim Ducks aquire Marc-Andre Bergeron from New York Islanders for a 3rd round pick
  • Anaheim Ducks aquire Jean-Sebastian Aubin from the Los Angeles Kings for a 7th round pick
  • Atlanta Thrashers aquire Joe Motzko from the Washington Capitals for Alex Giroux
  • Nashville Predators aquire Jan Hlavac from Tampa Bay Lightning for a 7th round pick
  • Nashville Predators aquire Brendon Bochenski from the Anaheim Ducks for future considerations
  • Tampa Bay aquires Brandon Segal and 2008 7th round pick from Anaheim Ducks for Jay Leach
Tags:

11 Responses to “Trade Deadline ’08”

  1. Mags Says:

    And Brandon Bochenski from the Ducks to the Predators for future considerations.

  2. Jen Says:

    lol Thanks Mags! I think that got posted right after I closed the window to actually like..”work” or whatever it is I’m supposed to be getting paid for ;)

  3. Mags Says:

    You’re welcome. I was closing the window when the thing came up so I figured I’d let you know :) (I have no work, and the day off tomorrow. Partay!)

  4. Jen Says:

    Lucky! I’m still at work for 2 and a half more hours. It’s been an incredibly long day, and I’m sure the fact that it has to do with the fact that I woke up only to see 2 of my favorite players had been traded lol

  5. Mags Says:

    Awww, boo work! I’m sorry about your favourites being traded, that sucks.

    Got another one by the way.

    Brandon Segal and a 7th round pick in 08 to the Lightning for Jay Leach to the Ducks.

    Ducks came in late this year.

  6. Jen Says:

    They definitely did lol

    I’m just glad it’s over. No more stress until July. Well, April actually. Stupid playoffs.

  7. Jen Says:

    I wonder what exactly they mean by “future considerations”
    Did they want rid of him that badly, that they’re like “oh well, just go ahead and take him. We’ll just ask a favor of you in the future”

  8. Mags Says:

    I dread the playoffs. If the emotional roller coaster ride I went on after I heard about the Hossa deal was any indication, I’m better off turning my TV off this year. That just isn’t healthy.

    I think the “future considerations” thing is a bit dangerous. You’re right though, it sounds very much like a favour. I don’t think favours are a good thing when you’re dealing with that much money.

  9. Jen Says:

    Playoffs have come to the bane of my existance. Especially with the Stars and their last few years of playoff mishaps. I try not to think about it, but the closer April gets the more on edge I get about it. I wish I was strong enough to turn my TV off.

    Favor’s definitely aren’t a good thing when dealing with that much money. Just offer them some pez and be on with it.

  10. Mags Says:

    The only time I succeeded in turning the TV off was during the Flames/Bolts SCF in 2004. And we all know the price we paid for that.

    I was sad to see the Stars exit in the first round last year. All those OTs, those shutouts. You should’ve got it.

  11. Jen Says:

    I agree. But i knew last year ever game that went to OT we’d lose. Since the lockout, our team had been HORRIBLE at winning in OT, they relied WAY too much on Jussi and the shootout to win games, and it definitely kicked us in the ass. Luckily we’re a much better OT team now, so hopefully that works in our favor.

Leave a Reply

