Marty Turco reads Dr Seuss

So today Marty Turco appeared at Half Price Books to read some Dr Seuss to celebrate Dr Seuss’ birthday.  We all know Marty Turco has the wonderful “stick with reading” program, to help and encourage children to read.

He read One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, at request of a kid in the crowd.  He also had his two daughters, Hailey and Katelyn, with him.  (They are adorable btw)

He answered some questions after the reading was finished.  It’s amazing what children will ask.  Such as “Why did you lose against the Preds yesterday?” and “What was your worst injury?”  Marty, being as cool as he always is, handled them well and laughed at them a bit.  All in all, it was a blast and fun thing to watch

Tags:

13 Responses to “Marty Turco reads Dr Seuss”

  1. thesigngirls Says:

    Looks like fun. I should have gone to that instead of hanging out at Northpark before I left Dallas. His daughters are so cute :)

    Amy

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Man, those kids hammered Turco on their questions. The kid who shouted “I KNEW IT” after Marty said he had trouble with Detroit cracked me up the most, though.

  3. CapsChick Says:

    That looks and sounds like it was a lot of fun! There are 234503 reasons why I adore Marty Turco – he is just so adorable and seems to be one of those genuine good guys in the league. I like a lot of guys on your team, don’t get me wrong, but he’s one of the biggest reasons I’ll be rooting for the Stars this spring…especially since they shipped my Halpie off to Tampa without discussing it with me first ;)

  4. Jen Says:

    The kid who shouted “I KNEW IT” after Marty said he had trouble with Detroit cracked me up the most, though.

    HAHAHA I forgot about that kid.

  5. Jen Says:

    That looks and sounds like it was a lot of fun! There are 234503 reasons why I adore Marty Turco – he is just so adorable and seems to be one of those genuine good guys in the league. I like a lot of guys on your team, don’t get me wrong, but he’s one of the biggest reasons I’ll be rooting for the Stars this spring…especially since they shipped my Halpie off to Tampa without discussing it with me first

    Turco really is an awesome guy. He got an award in the 2006-07 season for his Stick With Reading program. And I’m glad you’re rooting for the Stars this spring! yayyy And it’s definitely not cool to ship Halpie off without first discussing with you (or me for that matter)

  6. Caitlin Says:

    he’s one of the biggest reasons I’ll be rooting for the Stars this spring…

    Your Russian quotient is far too much for me to bear — go Caps. :D

  7. Jen Says:

    Oh Caitlin and her Russians.

  8. thesigngirls Says:

    Aww that is so freaking adorable! :)

    Sarah

  9. Patty (in Dallas) Says:

    That’s so cute! His daughters are so adorable! I can’t believe how old they are. I remember when he said he had a new baby and it seems like last year, but I guess it’s been a few.

  10. Caitlin Says:

    Oh Caitlin and her Russians.

    I like to collect them, like the little nesting dolls. :D

  11. Jen Says:

    I like to collect them, like the little nesting dolls.

    o.0 why do I get the image of little russian nesting dolls. One dressed up as Ovie, one as Bryz and one as Russian?

  12. Caitlin Says:

    o.0 why do I get the image of little russian nesting dolls. One dressed up as Ovie, one as Bryz and one as Russian?

    You know you can buy Dallas Stars nesting dolls, right?

  13. The 2008-09 Dallas Stars Tour, The Big Boys « The Shootout Says:

    […] most recently visiting a school with Fistric, Petersen and Crombeen.  Last season he did a reading at Half Price Books, and it was adorable.  Marty reading Dr. Suess.  It was rumored last year that he would begin […]

Leave a Reply

