Playoffs, here we come

Despite the fact that the Stars lost 3-2 in a shootout, they officially clinched a playoff spot with the point earned. So at least that’s a plus, and at least it was an overtime loss which is better than straight out losing. Brad Richards looked good in the shootout. Good boy Brad.

The damn Refs were awful to the Stars in the first 2 periods. Absolutely awful. Stars goals were scored by Mike Modano (from Morrow and Lehtinen) and Niklas Hagman (from Toby Petersen). Turco managed to grab the 3rd star of the night, and he totally deserved it. He made some amazing saves, and definitely kept our team in the game.

caitlins-mittens.png

I think it’s pretty safe to say we’re going to be seeing a lot more of Anaheim come mid-April.

 

I also promise I’ll get the player pages updated soon. Until then, enjoy a picture of the cute mini-mittens I made for Caitlin for her birthday.

 

Tags: , ,

13 Responses to “Playoffs, here we come”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    Heh! I LOVE MY MINI-MITTENS! :D

    Also, I’ve been meaning to make a post about my birthday presents but wanted to make sure I waited until the other one was complete. :D

  2. thesigngirls Says:

    I hate to be negative against Richards (well not really..) but Jussi played just as well in the shootout, and he made far less money. I’ve yet to see anything Richards consistently does that makes him worth a roster spot, much less $7.8 million.

    On another note, those mini-mittens are adorable!

    Amy

  3. Jen Says:

    Just because I said Richards did good in the shootout doesn’t mean I think he’s better than Jussi. I have much love for Jussi Fruit, esp after what he did on my birthday card <3

  4. Myra Says:

    “esp after what he did on my birthday card” Umm…do I ask or not?

    I’m afraid we won’t know the real worth of the Brad Richards trade for a long time. It seems to me that we shot ourselves in the foot for this season on the hopes of having a future replacement for Mo. I’m reserving judgement on Brad for now. He has been fairly invisible so far but so have a lot of our other players lately as well. I’m more upset with the trade over loosing Smitty, Jussi & Halpie and our team chemistry/momentum than I am over Richards.

    I didn’t see the game, what was the deal with all the penalties? Over zealous officials or really sloppy plays?

    Also, I love your mini-mittens. We have mangled poor Antti’s name in so many ways around our house, we have finally settled on Mr. Mittens (thanks Cat’s mom).

  5. Jen Says:

    “esp after what he did on my birthday card” Umm…do I ask or not?

    lol it’s nothing bad. He wrote “happy birthday” to me in Finnish on this giant birthday card I took to practice a few days after my birthday. He is such a cool guy.

    Oh Mr. Mittens. I love Caitlin’s mom (despite the fact that I’ve never met her) she is such a cool lady.

  6. Caitlin Says:

    I love Caitlin’s mom (despite the fact that I’ve never met her) she is such a cool lady.

    Speaking of which, Mommy wants to have you over for dinner sometime, FYI. She was talking about this to me the other night, because she’s met Cat but never you. :)

  7. Myra Says:

    Ooops! Sorry I credited the wrong mom! Middle-aged Mania is what my daughter calls it when I call her the dog’s name!

  8. Caitlin Says:

    Myra, it’s cool – I am sure we all confuse everyone :D

  9. thesigngirls Says:

    Ooops! Sorry I credited the wrong mom! Middle-aged Mania is what my daughter calls it when I call her the dog’s name!

    I’m so glad to hear that another mother does this! Sometimes my mom slips and calls me the cat’s name or the cat by my name. It’s pretty amusing too since her name is Little Britches. You’d think I’d be shocked at someone calling me “Britches” but it doesn’t phase me anymore.

    Amy

  10. Myra Says:

    I thought maybe since I only have one child I might escape this phenomenon. Then we had to go and get a dog. His name is Buddy so it doesn’t really fit my Kid either. I also have 2 nephews named Jared and Jordan. Though I know perfectly well which one is which, I get the names wrong half the time. They solved this by calling me Aunt Penny (the other aunt) whenever I get them wrong. They could just have pity on their old aunt! Sigh…

  11. Cat Says:

    Yeah, my mom is definitely not cool enough to call any hockey player anything, other than “that one dude that you really like”, and I always have to respond “but which ONE?!”

    I love those mini-mittens so much.

  12. Jen Says:

    lol It’s not a big deal. I get stuff mixed up all the time. I always call my pug a cat.

  13. Patty (in Dallas) Says:

    Those mittens are adorable!

Leave a Reply

