“Turchoke”? I don’t think so.

I swore to myself I wouldn’t get into this on my blog, because I can get pretty heated when it comes to this; but I can no longer hold my tongue.  In reading all the pregame synopsis of the upcoming Stars-Ducks playoff series, most of them have one thing in common; stating that Marty has a history of choking in the playoffs.

Excuse me?  I won’t make excuses, his first few appearances were far from fantastic.  But seriously, just because the Stars were out in the first round, again, last year against Vancouver, you can hardly put that blame on Marty Turco.  He was damn near perfect posting a 1.30 GAA and .952 SV%.  Not to mention the 3 shutouts he posted.  I would hardly call that ‘tanking’.  And if he can play like he did last season (which I totally believe he can) we’ll have a decent chance of getting to round 2.  What was a problem last year was offense, our people could not score to save our life.  The Stars know what they have to do to win against the Ducks and I think they’ll be able to come through.  I’m just so sick of seeing people saying Marty choked after the numbers he posted last season.  What do they expect him to do?  Post a shutout and score all the goals?

Anyway, now that I’m done venting (love you Marty), if you are attending a Stars playoff game be sure to wear a black shirt/jersey/etc.. The Stars are attempting to do a “black out” during the playoffs.  And if you wear something other than black, you will definitely stick out like a sore thumb.  So be a sport and dress in black.

The NHL has introduced some celebrity bloggers for this years playoffs.  They include Mandy Modano (AKA Willa Ford). You can find all of them here

In other news, I believe my mother is worried about the safety of Kleenex boxes in my house.  Like any other fan, I get pretty riled up.  And during the ’03-’04 season, a poor, unknowing Kleenex box became my prey.  By the end of the playoffs, that poor box was dead, and I do mean dead.  My mother has now hid all the Kleenex boxes from me.  Anyone have any other suggestions?  Hopefully something that doesn’t leave me with huge welts as the box did when I beat my leg with it.  Ooops.

As another sidenote: The Pensblog has posted a Stanley Cup Playoffs preview.  If you don’t read the Pensblog, you totally should because they are awesome.  Yours truely was ask to submit for the Stars, so there you go.  My 5-seconds of Pensblog fame.  Okay, not really.  But still.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to ““Turchoke”? I don’t think so.”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    I can see in my head the image of your mother going around collecting Kleenex boxes, hee.

    Awww, Willa. Mandy. Whatever she calls herself these days.

  2. Jen Says:

    This past weekend she seriously warned me that if I wish to take frustration out, I will have to buy my own Kleenex because she is almost out.

  3. Cat Says:

    Hee! Perhaps a stress ball or something would be better?

Leave a Reply

