So the Western Conference Finals

all I asked for was to get out of the first round, and look at where we are. 4 Wins away from being in the Stanley Cup Finals. I wish I could say those 4 wins would be easy, but we all know it won’t.

The Detroit Red Wings are an extremely skilled team. But if you throw their sweep against Colorado out of the mix (because I can and want to) and look at their first round performance against the Predators, the Wings are beatable.

I got an email from a reader asking if I think if I think the Stars will beat the Wings in this best of seven series, my answer to him was yes. The Stars have some sort of magic force on their side; whether it be some good vibes from magic disappearing Barchie (since he has completely disappeared during the playoffs) or just from the grittiness that is Brenden Morrow. This is a different team than we saw in March and they are on a roll. A gritty, determined roll. It’s going to be an extremely tight series, I think we all know this, but I think the Stars can pull this one out.

And I hope they do, because working in an office with 3 Red Wings fans (including one of those being my boss) will be unbearable otherwise.

Also, if you haven’t watched this yet, you totally should. A 5 minute video of the Stars in the locker room after their marathon. Sadly there is no sound, so maybe if I get bored I can come up with my own dialogue.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “So the Western Conference Finals”

  1. Myra Says:

    And I hope they do, because working in an office with 3 Red Wings fans (including one of those being my boss) will be unbearable otherwise.

    OUCH! Either way, this could get painful. So sorry!

  2. Jen Says:

    Ya, it’s awful lol One of my coworkers is from Detroit, so that’s understandable. My boss and his daughter are just traitors, however.

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Seriously, where does Barchie go? He can’t always be vanishing in the Electrical Engineering Room or wherever that place was! I’m still so befuddled by that.

  4. Jen Says:

    He is just magic! I swears it.

  5. Ian Says:

    Might as well be the first Wings fan to show up… I assure you I’m less obnoxious than the stereotype, but I have a few points:

    “I got an email from a reader asking if I think if I think the Stars will beat the Wings in this best of seven series, my answer to him was yes. The Stars have some sort of magic force on their side;”

    I really hope you can come up with a better reason than that. There are reasons the Stars could win this series, but comments like that make me just not care about your analysis. And please please please, do not say the Red Wings have “a goaltending situation” as all the talking heads like to say. Chris Osgood has been playing great, and this was the best season of his career.

    The other thing is that you follow this:

    “But if you throw their sweetp against Colorado out of the mix (because wow that was painful if you were an Avs fan) and look at their first round performance against the Predators, the Wings are beatable.”

    Almost directly with this:

    “This is a different [Stars]team than we saw in March and they are on a roll.”

    What is the difference there? You’re coming up against a different Wings team than you saw in the first round and they are on a roll. Throwing away their most recent, most dominating success over a better team than Nashville is irresponsible.

    Anyway, hope it’s a good series. Well, no I don’t really, good series’ give me ulcers, no matter what the result is. I’m sure you all can attest to that after Sunday night.

    If you want to check out some opposition talk, the best Wings blog is onthewingsblog.com. Abel to Yzerman at kuklaskorner.com is great too if you want to get fired up and angry, because he doesn’t pull any satirical punches. Not for the thin-skinned fan.

    Talk to you later.

  6. Jen Says:

    Well, if you can’t tell I’m definitely biased lol and to be frank, playing the Red Wings in the Western Cup Finals terrifies me, so of course I’m going to try to discount the Red Wings in any way possible ;)

    Maybe tomorrow if my wrist is feeling better I’ll do a real analysis of the series.

Leave a Reply

