Liveblog: Stars vs. Blues 10/16/08

Hello everyone.  I am here for the first Shootout liveblog of the 08-09 season.  As I said in a previous post, the Stars are in St. Louis tonight, coming off a much needed and deserved win against the Nashville Predators last night.  Let’s get this shit started.

PREGAME
They are doing a story on Stu being an assistant coach, I’m pretty sure I saw this on Stars Insider, but that’s okay.  I do not mind watching it again.  (Dear lord please don’t let my laptop die before I find somewhere to plug this thing in in the living room.)  This is my first liveblog on this laptop, so I am enjoying being able to lounge on the couch while blogging.  I guess I kinda got off subject, didn’t I?  Stuie looks so proud of his Traverse City plaque, which the Stars won.  Because they’re awesome.  Aw they are going to talk bout Boo-Boo!! Yay Boo-Boo.  They are previewing the goalies, Marty and Legace.  I love Legace, well, not tonight.  But otherwise I like him.  He was so awesome last year in the All-Star game, all five-foot-nothing of him.   HELLO RALPHIEE!!  I do wish they’d fix this IFB stuff, because the delay is a tad annoying.  AW LUDY JUST CALLED HIM BOO-BOO!  I love it.  Why they have to mention Russian being out, because that is not something I want to be reminded of.  Injury update….oh boy.  Jere Lehtinen (groin) and Steve Ott (undisclosed) did not make the trip, uh oh.   Ludy is a big fan of the injury policy, in that other teams don’t automatically know what injured certain players, I agree with you Ludy.  Because I know personally that if Brenden had injured a foot, I wouldn’t want everyone going after that certain foot as soon as he’s back in the line up.   At least I have a cat to entertain me during breaks.

1ST PERIOD

20:00: I will use this time to say that…no one wins the tie battle.  They are both equally awful.  Let’s get this game goin guys!  Opening line is Neal, Modano and Crombeen.   D-men are Grossman and Robi.

19:00: Next on the ice is Eriksson, Morrow and Ribeiro.

18:48: Neal takes an interference penalty.  Whatevs.  He is too young to interfere with anyone!  Blues have the number 1 PP so far.  Wow, after a whole week.  You must be proud.

18:28: Boucher lost his stick! OH NO!  Got it back but now only has one glove!  DO NOT HURT HIS HAND!

17:50: I have a weird love for Kariya, I don’t know why. BUT I HATE PLAYING HIM.  GET THE PUCK AWAY FROM HIM NOWWWW.

16:48: Penalty Killing is getting back on track…

16:20: Some Blues player got really close to getting a goal, but it went behind Turco and past the net.  Thank goodness.

16:00: BRUNNSTROM IS ON THE ICE YAYYYYY

15:04: Did Ralphie just say that Kariya can scoot?  Really?  That’s a little to close to “toot” for me.

14:30: PLEASE DO NOT HIT ERIKSSON.  HE IS TOO BRITTLE.  You break it, you bught it Blues!

13:50: My hockey watching pug is whining at the television, I think that’s her way of screaming SCORE STARSSS.

13:10: Neal got a nice feed from Grossman to get in alone, but Legace refuses to let the Stars get up first.  Sigh.

11:25: McDonald gets in, shoots it!  And Ralphie yells “A SHOT HE…WHERE IS IT?” and Razor throws in his phrase “IT WAS LARCENY!”  Turco somehow stops it, then does teddy bear roll to be like “wee i’m awesome, lookie what I have!”

9:55: HAHA RALPHIE SAID NISKANEN IS POINTLESS IN THIS YOUNG SEASON.  hahaha  I just died a little from laughter.

9:36: Eriksson gets right in front of Legace but isn’t able to get it past him.  Damn.

Aw, Les Jackson is going to talk during the 2nd intermission with Razor about Fabbity Fab Fabian.  I love Les Jackson.

Hee Yoshie

Hee Yoshie

9:07: (Y)Oshie gets away and tries to breakaway to Turco, but Boucher catchs him and manages to stop him.  (Y)Oshie then ends up in the net.  Sorry kid, that doesn’t work.

7:15: Ribeiro does something unsual, gives the puck away and Tkachuk gets the Blues up 1-0.  Ugh.

4:56: Oh good lord.  Marty tries to go get the puck, but it stays in the no handle zone.  Craziness happens and McKee makes it 2-0.

4:11: Do  my eyes deceive me?  Did Avery just block a shot?  Oh goodness.

3:26: Daley shoots and scores!  Good boy Daley!!  On replay, it seems Barch tipped it in!  YAY BARCHIE!!!

Razor informs me that he thinks all the wives are at III Forks for a watching party.  Why do I care?  I don’t.

2:03: Razor kids that the women probably have the TV muted.  Whatever. Yes, I’m jealous.

00: Period ends with the score 2-1 Blues.

1ST INTERMISSION

They are doing a story about Sean Avery visiting the kid in the hospital.  Good on you Avery, really.  I do mean that.

2ND PERIOD

19:37: They mention the Crombeen’s old man used to play for the Blues.  Aw…

17:50: Nisky got a good shot off the blue line.  And I didn’t mention that Nisky got the assist on the Barch goal, so he is no longer pointless. (HAHA)

17:03: And Stastny makes it 3-1. Looks a lot like the shot Marty stopped earlier, only it went behind the net instead of in front.  Sigh.

15:10: DAMNITT, Robi drives the puck towards the net, which Legace slaves then goes wide on the follow up.

14:55: And here come Blues into the Stars zone and there are hardly any Stars in their way  OH NOES!  Thank you for stopping them Turco.

14:45: Blues get caught with Too Many Men!  YES POWER PLAY!  POWER THAT PLAY!!!  Can you believe this is only the 2nd penalty of the night?

14: 38: ROBI GETS A NICE SHOT but it goes off Legace’s arm and Razor claims it went off the crossbar,which it did.  Damn.

14:05: POWER PLAY STARS.  DO NOT LET THEM SKATE THE PUCK ITO YOUR ZONE!

13:30: Brenden Morrow passed it back, but no one was there so it went over the blue line.  Sigh.  Come on guys, GET BACK IN THERE!

12:50: Seriously, how come the Blues are getting the shots on OUR power play?

12:33: Cut to commercial, but go out showing Fabbity Fab Fabian.  That is how I like it.

12:25: STOP LETTING KARIYA HAVE THE PUCK!!!@##$% NO GOOD CAN COME OF THIS

11:58: Good boy Fabian, he shoots at Legace, which he stops. Then goes down the ice to takeaway the puck from a pass from Kariya.  Fabbity Fab listens to me.

I love the commercial for the golfing thing in a week, Robi looks so precious.

10:29: YES PENALTY!  LET’S DO BETTER THIS TIME STARS OKAY?  THANK YOU.

9:55: GET OFF OF SWEDISH FISH.  HE IS BREAKABLE.  WHAT DID I TELL YOU BEFORE?

8:56: At least this PP is going better than the last, they were in the zone almost the entire time.

8:38: And Stars are taking a holding penalty.  BOO.  Brenden did nothing of the sort! HAHA Blues weren’t there for puck drop, so Stars won.

8:31: HAHA YES RALPHIE AND RAZOR!  I love you mentioning Brenden’s old spin in the box thing.  I don’t think he’s done it this season though.

8:08: I AM HEARING KARIYA’S NAME TOO MUCH IN THE PLAY-BY-PLAY THAT IS NOT GOOD!

8:00: HAA Boyes tries to pass to Tkachuk in front of the net, but Fishsticks knocks Tkachuk over so it goes right past him.

7:40: AHH Neal gets a turn from Legace who is out of the net, but he falls before being able to get it to the net.

7:22: Stars are doing a good job getting the puck out of their zone and attacking the Blues.

7:15: Ugh, Neal is taking another penalty. WHYYYY.  BRENDEN DO YOUR SPIN PLEASE.

7:01: Sigh, Boyes gets a goal, off a pass from KARIYA.  I TOLD YOU NOT TO LET HIM HAVE THE PUCK.  BRENDEN WHY DIDN’T YOU SPIN? 4-1

6:39: Blues are still on a power play, since Brenden’s penalty wasn’t done.  Ralphie mentions that the Stars are giving up way too many goals every night.  Goodness.  Marty, you’re GAA is going to be awful.

5:15: At least that awfulness is over, the Blues PP that is.

3:22: Yay Fishsticks just blocked a shot.  Baby steps I guess…

3:12: Yes Ralphie, it has gone from bad to worse.  I appreciate the reminder.

2:40: WHERE THE FUCK DID THAT COME FROM.  SERIOUSLY?!  5-1. I hate everything.

1:45: Petersen did a nice move to get the puck on the net.  Legace got it though :( Let us have one more plz?

00: God, is this only the end of the second period?  I give up.

2ND INTERMISSION

How about we start this with some GOOD news?  It seems our little Mittens is doing quite nicely for himself.  Tonight with the Wild against the Florida Panthers, Mittens got 2 goals and an assist.  That now gives him 5 goals and 7 points!  GOOD JOB LITTLE MITTENS.

Now they talk with Les Jackson about Brunnstrom.  Aw Les Jackson.   I love that even though Les Jackson has his own mic, Razor keeps turning his towards Jackson.  “And Marty’s gotta play well.”  You said it Les man.

HOW ABOUT OTHER GOOD NEWS?  VANCOUVER BEAT DETROIT IN OVERTIME!

3RD PERIOD

20:00: I can’t believe I’m missing ER for this.  I mean, really.  Shocking, Stephan is now in his 2nd NHL game.  And by shocking, I mean expected.

18:30: Good boy Stephan, you grab that puck.

18:05: NO PAUL KARIYA GET OFF THE ICEEEEE

17:39: DO NOT KNOCK FABBITY FAB OVER!!!  THAT’S RIGHT JANSSEN, YOU GET IN THE BOX!

13:17: At least it’s still only 5-1.

8:05: It’s still 5-1.  The people in Minnesota really like Mittens, so that is good to hear.

7:30: Ralphie mentions that all teams go through bumpy patches, we started out pretty bad last season too then became awesome.  Dear god please just let this be our bad patch.  Get it over with early so we can step all over everyone when they are having their ‘bad patch’.

7:SOMETHING: WTF? THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT I DON’T KNOW WHAT THEN I HEAR “THERE’S THE SLASH AND THERE’S THE GOAL” WTF WTF WTF 6-1. Oh for fucks sake, I need vodka.

5:18: Please do not attack Daley, unless you’re going to use him to knock some sense into these damn players.

Marty looks so sad on the bench.

2:10: Razor is trying to tell me this could be a good thing.  He is going into an explanation, but I do not care to hear this.

42: I should’ve counted how many times Ribeiro turned the puck over, that is not like him.  Blah.

00: Blues win it 6-1. I guess it could be worse, we could be Anaheim who are 0-4.

Do I wish to watch the post-game?  Not really.

Do I care about the 3 stars of the game?  Not at all.

POST-GAME

I watched the post-game anyway, and oh goodness.  Tippett has no lips whatsoever, which means he is livid.  He seriously looks like he could go on a killing spree any minute.  They had a closed door meeting and I can’t even imagine what was said.  Brenden looks like he is about to burst into tears.  Oh goodness.  He looks like a little kid after being punished.  And also blaming himself for a lot of it.  What a captain, I mean that in a good way.

Tags: ,

21 Responses to “Liveblog: Stars vs. Blues 10/16/08”

  1. Myra Says:

    Man, we just Boucher back and now Otter, my little ice troll, is out. I hope it isn’t anything serious. :(

    After that last Blues goal, I’m thinking they might should have given Stephan the start.

    And how about Daley? Where has he been?

  2. Jen Says:

    I dunno man, I dunno if Stephan could’ve made that first amazing save Turco did. I’m conflicted lol

  3. Myra Says:

    True he has had some great saves. I think the forwards are going to have to play a little more D. And what’s up with all these interference calls?

  4. Jen Says:

    What is up with this entire game?

  5. Myra Says:

    Is this the same team that played last night? They look nothing alike.

  6. Jen Says:

    My thoughts exactly Myra. Seriously, just pull Turco. Give Stephan a chance to get his nerves out lol

  7. Lori Says:

    I will be super shocked if Turco comes out in the 3rd. This is just terrible. Looks nothing like who I watched last night at the AAC.

  8. Myra Says:

    At this point what do they have to lose. Although, I kinda hate to see a rookie get hung out to dry, the way they have been doing Turco tonight.

  9. Jen Says:

    Ya, I don’t think Turco is coming back for the third.

  10. Myra Says:

    Yay! Mittens!! 2 goals and an assist!!!

  11. Jen Says:

    i have spent most of the 3rd period looking up what people on the Wild board think of Mittens. They have a “Mittens Fan Club” post.

  12. Lori Says:

    I’m gonna go with the theory that sometimes a good ass kicking actually wakes you up. Our Stars better show up Saturday to play hockey.

  13. Myra Says:

    Awww. Mittens Fan Club! So glad he is getting some love!

  14. Jen Says:

    Oh yes. If they don’t I will jump over that glass and beat them all with my shoe.

  15. Myra Says:

    Well, I’m glad that is over.

  16. Jen Says:

    So am I.

  17. classic17 Says:

    I enjoyed the blog, I like to find another team’s blog to go along with the Blues one I read and this was a pleasant surprise. I think I’ll be checking in here the next time we see you guys (which isn’t until February, I don’t think) Good luck the rest of the way

  18. Jen Says:

    Thanks :) I’m glad you enjoyed it! I wish I could say I enjoyed writing it lol

  19. Chelsea Says:

    I didn’t get to watch this game, but after seeing your liveblog and some other recaps… maybe I’m better off having missed it. It looked like we got tossed down, stepped on, run over, deep-fried, and taxidermied.

    Did get to see Morrow’s post-game sorrow. Nearly broke my heart. :(

  20. Lacy Says:

    I swear that is the worst game I have watched in a long time. -_- I mean. Really just…*sighs* Maybe this IS our bad patch and we’ll actually start doing better. hopefully starting with our game against the Avs. IDK tho, this is just…depressing. lol

  21. Adam Says:

    Let’s ALL make burnt offerings to the hockey gods that this IS just a rough spot .
    I know that it is not time to panic this early in the season , but how much longer do we need to wait before we do panic ?
    I know that if I were Anaheim , I would be panicing like crazy .
    I DO think that it is odd how Mittens and Hagman are both doing well outside of The Stars Franchise . Should we start second-guessing our co-GM’s trains of thoughts now ?

Leave a Reply

