Who is the most embarrassing in this situation?

Soap for Avery

Soap for Avery

“I am really happy to be back in Calgary, I love Canada,” Avery said on camera this morning in Calgary.  “I just want to comment on how it’s become like a common thing in the NHL for guys to fall in love with my sloppy seconds. I don’t know what that’s about. Enjoy the game tonight.” [TSN.ca]

That is what was said in reference to Dion Phaneuf dating Avery’s ex Elisha Cuthbert and resulted in Sean Avery being suspended indefinitely.

So out of this entire situation, who would I be the most embarrassed about?

  1. Sean Avery
  2. Brett Hull
  3. Gary Bettman

It’s a tough decision, but we’ll start with who I think is the least embarrassing.  Believe it or not, I’m going with Sean Avery.  Sure, it’s embarrassing he went and got himself suspended for something as stupid as a comment regarding a certain Calgary Flame and ex-girlfriend, but that’s who he is.  He is known to cause trouble and get attention, in both classless and stupid ways.  It’s who he is.  It doesn’t make it right and I’m not excusing his comments or condoning them, but that’s just him.

The next most embarrassing would be Gary Bettman.  A suspension?  Really?  I understand his side of it, don’t get me wrong, but it seems like the stupidest reason to suspend someone ever.  Had Sean Avery directly insulted said Flame and ex-girlfriend I would understand it more.  He just simply decided to state something that is fact in an extremely classless way for attention.  That is all.  A simple quote, as classless as it may be, doesn’t seem to be suspension worthy to me.

So we get to he who is the most embarrassing in this entire situation, that would be you Mr. Brett Hull.  He is who got us into this.  The entire league knows how Sean Avery is, so it’s not like this should be a surprise to anyone.  However, Brett Hull disregarded that and decided to sign him anyway.  He assumed he could get Sean Avery to tone it down and not embarrass the team.  Is it just me or does that seem extremely naive?  Sean Avery is a big boy, he should know when to close his mouth, but he doesn’t.  The entire league knows this, I’m sure Brett Hull knew this.   And in part to the signing of Avery, (amoung other actions taken by our lovely Co-GM’s) we are now the joke of the entire hockey league.  We are now stuck with him, because what other team will want him on their roster?

Tags:

4 Responses to “Who is the most embarrassing in this situation?”

  1. Lori Says:

    I agree with you 100%. Avery’s comments were stupid & totally uncalled for. I also agree a suspension by the NHL is a bit far out there – I mean I could have understood the Stars fining him — the Stars, not the NHL. That would have been the Stars way of saying “shut your mouth & be an adult”. I bet Morrow is thankful for pain medication today!!

  2. Jen Says:

    I mean I could have understood the Stars fining him — the Stars, not the NHL. That would have been the Stars way of saying “shut your mouth & be an adult”

    Agreed. The Stars handling this in-house would make a lot more sense in my eyes. Not an indefinitely suspension from the league.

  3. Patty (in Dallas) Says:

    According to Scott Burnside on ESPN.com, a complaint was filed against Avery with the League after the Bruins game and he escaped suspension then. I bet it’s not just for this.

  4. unstableblogger Says:

    Avery is a lot of things and he’s not known for being Mr. Manners but hey, the guy is consistent. If everyone was so freaked out about embarrassing Mr. Hicks and his family might I suggest they should not have signed Avery in the first place? I dunno, maybe I’m talkin crazy here but that sorta makes sense to me. :)

    I will not defend the content of Avery’s comments because yes, they were crass and he knew it; however, I will also not defend Bettman and the NHL’s decision to toss out an ‘indefinite’ suspension over a crass comment when there are guys ramming other players’ heads into the boards from behind and getting the standard 3 game suspension IF they get a suspension at all.

    This is a matter for the Stars organization to deal with if Hicks felt it was warranted, not Gary Bettman. And yes, I agree that Jabba The Hull is more embarrassing here than Avery. Hull knew exactly what Avery was about and exactly what he was bringing to the Stars. Avery has not changed…if anything, he’s been tamer here than he has been on other teams. If people want to point a finger in all this mess, I think it should be pointed at Hull but that is only my opinion and it is not worth more than anyone else’s :)

Leave a Reply

