Avery issues an apology

Fresh from Puck Daddy:

“I would like to sincerely apologize for my off-color remarks to the press yesterday from Calgary. I should not have made those comments and I recognize that they were inappropriate. It was a bad attempt to build excitement for the game, but I am now acutely aware of how hurtful my actions were.

“I caused unnecessary embarrassment to my peers as well as people I have been close with in the past. I apologize for offending the great fans of the NHL, the Commissioner, my teammates, my coaching staff and the Dallas Stars Management and Ownership. As many of you know, I like to mix it up on and off the ice from time to time, but understand that this time I took it too far.”

Bob McKenzie over at TSN is reporting that Avery’s apology was rejected by the Stars ogranization:

Sources tell TSN that Avery’s personal publicist reached out to the Stars’ president on Wednesday morning in an effort to get the club, in conjunction with Avery, to issue a formal apology by means a press release.

The Stars made it clear to Avery’s representative that the door was not open for that to happen, that they wanted nothing to do with it. Avery later in the day issued a press release apology of his own that was not issued or sanctioned by the team

Uh oh

Tags:

2 Responses to “Avery issues an apology”

  1. lewp Says:

    Wow. When are athletes going to learn?

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Hahahahahahaha! The sooner they kick him to the curb, the better.

Leave a Reply

