Welcome the new coach, Marc Crawford

The Stars officially announced today the firing of Dave Tippett and the hiring of new head coach Marc Crawford.  Mark Lamb has also been given the boot. 

I make it no secret I was a big fan of Tippett, but I will give Crawford a chance.  The numbers, however, aren’t too uplifting.   He was fired by the Kings in 2008, so he was not coaching during the 08-09 season, so here are the compareable numbers between both coaches between the 02-03 and 07-08 seasons.

Tippett: 235-121-54 With the Stars
Crawford: 189-163-58 With the Canucks and Kings

That is a big difference.  The one thing he has going for him was winning a Stanley Cup, which Tippett has not done.  But that was also in 1996, 13 years ago.  I’m going to admit, I am definitely a tad worried about this upcoming season.  But here’s hoping that Crawford can prove me wrong in thinking he was a bad choice for coach.

Tags:

One Response to “Welcome the new coach, Marc Crawford”

  1. professional landscape lighting company Says:

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would enjoy
    your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an email.

Leave a Reply

