Archive for the ‘Awards’ Category

TV Schedule and Awards

September 3, 2008

So the Stars have announced the TV schedule for the upcoming season (which you can find here).  NBC will be continuing their “Game of the Week” this season, and the Feb 8th game between Dallas and Nashville is a candidate, so we’ll see how that goes.

What sucks, is yet again, no pre-season games will be televised.  The October 2nd game against Chicago will, however, be broadcast on News Talk 820 WBAP.  Oh remember the days when they actually AIRED pre-season games?  Those were the days….

Last night the Dallas All-Sports Association had their Awards Banquet at the Fairmont Hotel.  Dave Tippett was awarded the Tom Landry Coaches Award, which honors those coaches who reflect high values, beliefs and professionalism.  Mike Modano recieved the Emmitt Smith End Zone Award which honors players who strive for athletic perfection and performance.  I think these are definitely the best 2 choices for these awards!

NHL Awards

June 12, 2008

So the NHL Awards are tonight at 7pm ET on Versus. 

I must say, I could really care less, since no Stars players are nominated.  So that pretty much takes all the fun out of it.

Jack Adams Award

May 1, 2008

I forgot to mention this yesterday, but the NHL announced the finalists for the Jack Adams Award yesterday.

  • Mike Babcock (Satan Detroit Red Wings)
  • Bruce Boudreau (Washington Capitals)
  • Guy Carbonneau (Montréal Canadiens)

You gotta have Hart

April 29, 2008

Hee, that phrase will always make me laugh. Thanks No Lip Tipp. Anyway, the Hart trophy nominees were announced.

  • Jarome Iginla (Calgary Flames)
  • Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins)
  • Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)

Surprise, surprise surprise.

In other news, former Star and one of my favorites, Jeff Halpern, has been named CAPTAIN of the Men’s National Team. Good boy Halpie!!!!!!! I might watch this year, afterall. Of course he is no captain rookie, having worn the C while on the Washington Capitals.

Also, I am quite proud of Mr Matty Norstrom. Not only did he get the game winning goal in overtime..

He was also named as the 3rd star of the night! WOOHOO. I will have my game recap up tomorrow!

Also, I finally updated the Playoff Stats, go me.

And while I support all teams in Dallas (even those that blow), I must say I am a bit happy the Mavs are out of the playoffs. The reason is purely selfish: The Mavs banners will now be taken off the AAC and replaced with the original Stars banners. Brenden Morrow will flap in the breeze again!

Oh, and they’ve also locked Otter in for 2 more years. I’m sure all of the Pacific division is throwing parties :D

Selke candidates announced

April 25, 2008

Pardon me while I yawn from non-interest.  2 have sold their souls to the devil (IE Plays for the Red Wings) and 1 is a Devil (of the New Jersey sort.)

  • Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings)
  • Henrik Zetterberg (Detroit Red Wings)
  • John Madden (New Jersey Devils)

Such nice men…

April 24, 2008

Yep, the Lady Byng finalists were announced today.

  • Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings)
  • Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning)
  • Jason Pominville (Buffalo Sabres)

They’re parents would be so proud.

Oh you silly Rookies

April 23, 2008

I’m sure it’s no surprise to anyone who the 3 finalists for Rookie of the Year are for the 2007-2008 freshman class.  One of these 3 fine young men will be taking home the Calder this year.

  • Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks)
  • Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks)
  • Nicklas Backstrom (Washington Capitals)

And the Norris goes to..

April 22, 2008

Well, we won’t actually find out until June, but the finalists are

  • Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins)
  • Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings) surprise surprise
  • Dion Phaneuf (Calgary Flames)

Awards Finalists Ahoy!

April 21, 2008

The NHL has started announcing the finalists of this years awards.

Announced today are the finalists for the Vezina (top goaltender).  The finalists this year are:

  • Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)
  • Evgeni Nabokov (San Jose Sharks)
  • Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers)

Tomorrow will be the announcement of the Norris. 

The other announcements are as follows
April 23: Calder Memorial
April 24: Lady Byng
April 25: Frank J. Selke
April 29: Hart Memorial

Russian FTW

March 17, 2008

Sergei Zubov has been nominated for the Bill Masterson Trophy.  Of course, I think he should be the one to win.  I am a tad biased, but also the fact that it’s named after a former Star?  Hello?  We should win every year.

I can hear Russian grinding his teeth from here.